Carolina vs Washington Adventist
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carolina UniversityWinston-Salem, NCCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Washington Adventist UniversityTakoma Park, MDCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Washington Adventist has the higher graduation rate: 29% against 22% at Carolina.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Washington Adventist has the lower price after aid: $19,311 a year, against $22,993 at Carolina.
- Washington Adventist has the lower average price after aid: about $19,000 a year, against about $21,000 at Carolina.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Winston-Salem, NC
Takoma Park, MD
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
893
695
Sports
NAIA · Continental Athletic Conference
NAIA · Continental Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
40%
46%
Average SAT
Not reported
980
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
29%
First-year retention
56%
64%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$32,864
$64,249
Median debt
$20,287
$30,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $21,000
About $19,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $18,000
About $18,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $18,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $23,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $24,000
About $22,000
Over $110,000
About $24,000
About $21,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Bible/Biblical Studies $56,995
- Theology $38,859
- Nursing $94,173
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.