Carson-Newman vs Robert Morris
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carson-Newman UniversityJefferson City, TNCompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Robert Morris UniversityMoon Township, PACompass Score: Good · Top 39%
At a glance
- Robert Morris has the higher graduation rate: 66% against 53% at Carson-Newman.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Carson-Newman has the lower price after aid: $17,313 a year, against $20,199 at Robert Morris.
- Carson-Newman has the lower average price after aid: $20,251 a year, against $23,003 at Robert Morris.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Jefferson City, TN
Moon Township, PA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
2,735
4,737
Sports
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
NCAA Division I · Horizon League
Admission
Admission rate
90%
90%
Average SAT
1117
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
66%
First-year retention
74%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,382
$62,105
Median debt
$21,500
$26,950
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,251
$23,003
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,672
$19,548
$30,001–$48,000
$16,446
$16,857
$48,001–$75,000
$17,313
$20,199
$75,001–$110,000
$21,209
$23,230
Over $110,000
$28,621
$28,842
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $70,769
- Accounting $64,634
- Business administration $64,503
- Other psychology $49,609
- Communication studies $46,614
- Security science $90,206
- Engineering (general) $86,444
- Information science $82,989
- Nursing $81,212
- Applied mathematics $76,610
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.