Centenary vs Emory & Henry
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Centenary UniversityHackettstown, NJCompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Emory & Henry UniversityEmory, VACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Emory & Henry has the lower price after aid: $17,622 a year, against $21,277 at Centenary.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Centenary: $53,726, against $47,385 at Emory & Henry.
- Median debt is lower at Centenary: $23,163, against $26,332 at Emory & Henry.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Hackettstown, NJ
Emory, VA
Setting
Suburb
Rural
Students
1,453
1,364
Sports
NCAA Division III · Atlantic East Conference
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
83%
84%
Average SAT
Not reported
1135
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–26
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
56%
First-year retention
78%
66%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,726
$47,385
Median debt
$23,163
$26,332
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,503
$19,061
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$13,329
$14,246
$30,001–$48,000
$16,047
$14,430
$48,001–$75,000
$21,277
$17,622
$75,001–$110,000
$23,306
$19,029
Over $110,000
$28,735
$23,418
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $72,527
- Criminal justice $67,181
- Biology $63,381
- Social work $62,373
- Teacher education $61,358
- Business administration $71,531
- Kinesiology and exercise science $45,877
- Psychology $42,940
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.