College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Centenary vs Mount Mercy

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Mount Mercy has the lower price after aid: $16,883 a year, against $21,277 at Centenary.
  • Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Mount Mercy: $60,787, against $53,726 at Centenary.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 33%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 43%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Hackettstown, NJ
Cedar Rapids, IA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
1,453
1,451
Sports
NCAA Division III · Atlantic East Conference
NAIA · Heart of America Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
83%
83%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
58%
First-year retention
78%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,726
$60,787
Median debt
$23,163
$23,699
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,503
$20,168
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$13,329
$17,070
$30,001–$48,000
$16,047
$15,294
$48,001–$75,000
$21,277
$16,883
$75,001–$110,000
$23,306
$20,311
Over $110,000
$28,735
$25,244
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Business administration $72,527
  2. Criminal justice $67,181
  3. Biology $63,381
  4. Social work $62,373
  5. Teacher education $61,358
  1. Nursing $75,613
  2. Business (general) $64,408
  3. Human resources $61,772
  4. Accounting $59,763
  5. Finance $57,928

Compare with another college

Centenary University · Mount Mercy University

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.