Chadron State vs Sul Ross State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Chadron State CollegeChadron, NECompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sul Ross State UniversityAlpine, TXCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Chadron State has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 30% at Sul Ross State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Chadron State: $47,002, against $41,871 at Sul Ross State.
- Median debt is lower at Sul Ross State: $15,900, against $18,875 at Chadron State.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 25%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Chadron, NE
Alpine, TX
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,205
1,942
Sports
NCAA Division II · Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Lone Star Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
99%
Average SAT
Not reported
1024
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
15–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
30%
First-year retention
63%
45%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$47,002
$41,871
Median debt
$18,875
$15,900
Cost
Average price after aid
$12,549
$13,286
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,047
$11,110
$30,001–$48,000
$10,090
$11,722
$48,001–$75,000
$12,561
$11,261
$75,001–$110,000
$14,674
$18,596
Over $110,000
$16,047
$20,279
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- General studies $64,738
- Business administration $58,263
- Plant Sciences $53,484
- Secondary education $50,643
- Criminal justice $46,495
- Kinesiology and exercise science $57,658
- Business administration $49,510
- Interdisciplinary studies $49,184
- Criminal justice $42,239
- Psychology $42,185
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.