Chestnut Hill vs Mount Saint Mary's
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Chestnut Hill CollegePhiladelphia, PACompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos Angeles, CACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Mount Saint Mary's has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 49% at Chestnut Hill.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Mount Saint Mary's has the lower price after aid: $17,876 a year, against $22,714 at Chestnut Hill.
- Mount Saint Mary's has the lower average price after aid: $21,413 a year, against $27,970 at Chestnut Hill.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Los Angeles, CA
Setting
City
City
Students
1,402
2,308
Sports
NCAA Division II · Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
74%
73%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
49%
53%
First-year retention
62%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,015
$72,379
Median debt
$26,389
$25,949
Cost
Average price after aid
$27,970
$21,413
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$28,011
$23,849
$30,001–$48,000
$24,447
$13,718
$48,001–$75,000
$22,714
$17,876
$75,001–$110,000
$28,168
$30,247
Over $110,000
$33,175
$18,762
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $80,579
- Business administration $66,885
- Security science $60,744
- Criminal justice $57,831
- Teacher education $51,339
- Nursing $119,050
- Pre-health $105,024
- Accounting $74,449
- Business administration $63,194
- Sociology $59,575
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.