Chowan vs Tennessee Wesleyan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Chowan UniversityMurfreesboro, NCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Tennessee Wesleyan UniversityAthens, TNCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Tennessee Wesleyan has the higher graduation rate: 48% against 30% at Chowan.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Tennessee Wesleyan has the lower price after aid: $11,609 a year, against $13,726 at Chowan.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Tennessee Wesleyan: $45,989, against $38,412 at Chowan.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Murfreesboro, NC
Athens, TN
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
708
1,074
Sports
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
69%
69%
Average SAT
Not reported
1090
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
19–23
Outcomes
Graduation rate
30%
48%
First-year retention
71%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,412
$45,989
Median debt
$29,491
$20,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $14,000
About $15,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $14,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $11,000
About $11,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $15,000
About $13,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $15,000
About $16,000
Over $110,000
About $20,000
About $19,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $54,889
- Criminal justice $44,858
- Social sciences $44,793
- Kinesiology and exercise science $44,711
- Interdisciplinary studies $39,224
- Nursing $71,084
- Accounting $70,782
- Marketing $61,564
- Business administration $61,103
- Teacher education $46,925
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.