Cleveland State vs Morgan State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Cleveland State UniversityCleveland, OHCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Morgan State UniversityBaltimore, MDCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Cleveland State has the higher graduation rate: 51% against 41% at Morgan State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Morgan State has the lower price after aid: $9,585 a year, against $11,958 at Cleveland State.
- Median debt is lower at Cleveland State: $21,797, against $27,250 at Morgan State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 50%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 30%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Cleveland, OH
Baltimore, MD
Setting
City
City
Students
14,117
9,808
Sports
NCAA Division I · Horizon League
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
91%
82%
Average SAT
Not reported
971
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–21
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
41%
First-year retention
70%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,131
$50,698
Median debt
$21,797
$27,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$14,764
$14,985
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$11,958
$9,585
$30,001–$48,000
$13,561
$13,420
$48,001–$75,000
$14,727
$16,147
$75,001–$110,000
$15,690
$19,981
Over $110,000
$20,378
$21,323
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $100,385
- Electrical engineering technology $88,732
- Computer engineering $88,595
- Electrical engineering $87,713
- Computing and information science $86,337
- Electrical engineering $98,640
- Computer science $90,183
- Civil engineering $88,870
- Information science $83,331
- Industrial Engineering $81,416
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.