Colby-Sawyer vs Lees-McRae
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Colby-Sawyer CollegeNew London, NHCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lees-McRae CollegeBanner Elk, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Colby-Sawyer has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 42% at Lees-McRae.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Colby-Sawyer: $46,474, against $43,415 at Lees-McRae.
- Median debt is lower at Lees-McRae: $17,375, against $27,000 at Colby-Sawyer.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
New London, NH
Banner Elk, NC
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
950
839
Sports
NCAA Division III · Great Northeast Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
Admission
Admission rate
80%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
42%
First-year retention
77%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,474
$43,415
Median debt
$27,000
$17,375
Cost
Average price after aid
$27,431
$28,340
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$22,456
$23,030
$30,001–$48,000
$19,687
$22,733
$48,001–$75,000
$24,437
$25,905
$75,001–$110,000
$27,412
$28,854
Over $110,000
$29,679
$33,664
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $82,803
- Business administration $68,502
- Psychology $56,533
- Kinesiology and exercise science $55,024
- Natural resources and conservation $47,114
- Nursing $87,523
- Business administration $60,108
- Criminal justice $50,085
- Teacher education $45,862
- Psychology $44,161
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.