Concordia University-Irvine vs Hampton
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Concordia University-IrvineIrvine, CACompass Score: Good · Top 47%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hampton UniversityHampton, VACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Hampton has the lower price after aid: $14,305 a year, against $22,202 at Concordia University-Irvine.
- Hampton has the lower average price after aid: $25,319 a year, against $28,115 at Concordia University-Irvine.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Concordia University-Irvine: $65,083, against $59,159 at Hampton.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 38%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Irvine, CA
Hampton, VA
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
3,481
3,649
Sports
NCAA Division II · Pacific West Conference
NCAA Division I · Colonial Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
66%
62%
Average SAT
Not reported
969
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
13–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
57%
First-year retention
75%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$65,083
$59,159
Median debt
$24,247
$25,442
Cost
Average price after aid
$28,115
$25,319
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$25,431
$32,101
$30,001–$48,000
$26,012
$14,207
$48,001–$75,000
$22,202
$14,305
$75,001–$110,000
$26,339
Not reported
Over $110,000
$31,967
$31,528
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $105,657
- Business administration $68,635
- Kinesiology and exercise science $59,648
- Communication studies $56,388
- Liberal arts $51,206
- Nursing $94,216
- Business administration $82,252
- Political science $64,293
- Journalism $61,675
- Liberal arts $54,437
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.