Cumberland vs North Park
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Cumberland UniversityLebanon, TNCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.North Park UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- North Park has the higher graduation rate: 58% against 46% at Cumberland.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, North Park has the lower price after aid: $16,067 a year, against $19,609 at Cumberland.
- Median debt is lower at Cumberland: $17,952, against $25,500 at North Park.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Lebanon, TN
Chicago, IL
Setting
Town
City
Students
3,072
2,624
Sports
NAIA · Mid-South Conference
NCAA Division III · College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin
Admission
Admission rate
67%
69%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
58%
First-year retention
59%
62%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$57,687
$59,572
Median debt
$17,952
$25,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$18,759
$16,948
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,882
$14,845
$30,001–$48,000
$18,048
$14,843
$48,001–$75,000
$19,609
$16,067
$75,001–$110,000
$20,333
$19,208
Over $110,000
$20,917
$22,964
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $78,954
- Business administration $60,477
- Accounting $51,366
- Criminal justice $51,032
- Psychology $42,713
- Nursing $86,581
- Criminal justice $65,032
- Liberal arts $62,972
- Business administration $61,958
- Psychology $56,062
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.