Cumberland vs Southwest Baptist
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Cumberland UniversityLebanon, TNCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southwest Baptist UniversityBolivar, MOCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Southwest Baptist has the higher graduation rate: 55% against 46% at Cumberland.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Cumberland has the lower price after aid: $17,882 a year, against $21,978 at Southwest Baptist.
- Cumberland has the lower average price after aid: about $19,000 a year, against about $22,000 at Southwest Baptist.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Lebanon, TN
Bolivar, MO
Setting
Town
Town
Students
3,072
2,155
Sports
NAIA · Mid-South Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Lakes Valley Conference
Admission
Admission rate
67%
68%
Average SAT
Not reported
1088
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
17–26
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
55%
First-year retention
59%
65%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$57,687
$43,112
Median debt
$17,952
$20,957
Cost
Average price after aid
About $19,000
About $22,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $18,000
About $22,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $18,000
About $18,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $20,000
About $20,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $20,000
About $22,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $24,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $78,954
- Business administration $60,477
- Accounting $51,366
- Criminal justice $51,032
- Psychology $42,713
- Nursing $78,525
- Computer science $62,016
- Kinesiology and exercise science $58,770
- Business administration $56,182
- Psychology $43,058
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.