CUNY Hunter vs Utah Valley
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.CUNY Hunter CollegeNew York, NYCompass Score: Excellent · Top 17%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Utah Valley UniversityOrem, UTCompass Score: Good · Top 48%
At a glance
- CUNY Hunter has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 45% at Utah Valley.
- For families earning up to $30,000, CUNY Hunter has the lower price after aid: $1,029 a year, against $3,904 at Utah Valley.
- CUNY Hunter has the lower average price after aid: $2,984 a year, against $6,376 at Utah Valley.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 17%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A+Value: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 1%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
New York, NY
Orem, UT
Setting
City
City
Students
22,879
44,651
Sports
NCAA Division III · City University of New York Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Western Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
54%
Not reported
Average SAT
1280
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
45%
First-year retention
78%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$63,163
$55,486
Median debt
$11,000
$14,750
Cost
Average price after aid
$2,984
$6,376
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$1,029
$3,904
$30,001–$48,000
$1,935
$4,231
$48,001–$75,000
$6,003
$5,664
$75,001–$110,000
$8,810
$8,115
Over $110,000
$12,259
$13,297
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $116,361
- Clinical laboratory science $104,791
- Computer science $102,321
- Human Biology $83,420
- Mathematics $80,308
- Computer engineering $121,466
- Computer science $115,541
- Information science $112,128
- Air Transportation $106,001
- Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection $97,793
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.