Dakota State vs Henderson State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Dakota State UniversityMadison, SDCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Henderson State UniversityArkadelphia, ARCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Dakota State has the higher graduation rate: 51% against 37% at Henderson State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Dakota State has the lower price after aid: $17,317 a year, against $23,386 at Henderson State.
- Dakota State has the lower average price after aid: $21,057 a year, against $23,405 at Henderson State.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Madison, SD
Arkadelphia, AR
Setting
Town
Town
Students
3,508
2,136
Sports
NAIA · North Star Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Great American Conference
Admission
Admission rate
88%
Not reported
Average SAT
1215
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
20–27
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
37%
First-year retention
75%
62%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,970
$43,459
Median debt
$23,500
$19,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,057
$23,405
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,317
$23,386
$30,001–$48,000
$18,792
$23,208
$48,001–$75,000
$19,165
$25,051
$75,001–$110,000
$22,601
Not reported
Over $110,000
$23,269
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $85,696
- Information technology $78,637
- Business administration $69,841
- Information science $56,991
- Teacher education $48,997
- Nursing $68,733
- Accounting $62,161
- Business (general) $48,955
- Liberal arts $46,783
- Social work $42,453
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.