Dean vs Southwestern
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Dean CollegeFranklin, MACompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southwestern CollegeWinfield, KSCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Dean has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 36% at Southwestern.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Southwestern: $55,646, against $38,109 at Dean.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Franklin, MA
Winfield, KS
Setting
Suburb
Town
Students
1,151
1,139
Sports
NCAA Division III · Great Northeast Athletic Conference
NAIA · Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
76%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
36%
First-year retention
68%
56%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,109
$55,646
Median debt
$25,000
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $31,000
About $30,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $27,000
About $26,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $27,000
About $29,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $29,000
About $30,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $31,000
About $31,000
Over $110,000
About $34,000
About $33,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $62,986
- Kinesiology and exercise science $46,897
- Psychology $45,086
- Theatre $36,724
- Dance $36,644
- Nursing $85,029
- Programming $83,746
- Information technology $80,322
- Other business, management, marketing, and related support services $77,689
- Business administration $73,596
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.