Delaware State vs Governors State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Delaware State UniversityDover, DECompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Governors State UniversityUniversity Park, ILCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Delaware State has the higher graduation rate: 39% against 22% at Governors State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Governors State has the lower price after aid: $11,705 a year, against $15,701 at Delaware State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Governors State: $58,169, against $49,307 at Delaware State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Dover, DE
University Park, IL
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
5,828
4,337
Sports
NCAA Division I · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
NAIA · Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
47%
48%
Average SAT
940
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
20–24
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
39%
22%
First-year retention
70%
56%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,307
$58,169
Median debt
$26,000
$18,618
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,910
$12,329
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$11,135
$9,563
$30,001–$48,000
$12,452
$10,933
$48,001–$75,000
$15,701
$11,705
$75,001–$110,000
$17,633
$16,741
Over $110,000
$17,326
$22,076
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $98,411
- Nursing $94,568
- Accounting $72,522
- Business administration $59,689
- Biology $59,296
- Nursing $88,391
- Computer science $79,154
- Computing and information science $70,895
- Accounting $61,223
- Business administration $59,562
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.