Denison vs Hillsdale
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Denison UniversityGranville, OHCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 6%A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hillsdale CollegeHillsdale, MICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%
At a glance
- Hillsdale has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 79% at Denison.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 6%
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 5%
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Not rated
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Granville, OH
Hillsdale, MI
Setting
Suburb
Town
Students
2,405
1,823
Sports
NCAA Division III · North Coast Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
17%
21%
Average SAT
1410
1415
ACT middle 50%
30–33
30–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
79%
90%
First-year retention
89%
97%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$67,753
Not reported
Median debt
$26,000
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
$40,007
Not reported
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,656
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
$13,086
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
$17,827
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$20,839
Not reported
Over $110,000
$48,472
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Economics $97,394
- Communication studies $66,730
- Education (general) $65,429
- Biology $55,654
- Romance languages $49,358
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.