DeVry University-Illinois vs Worcester Polytechnic Institute
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.DeVry University-IllinoisLisle, ILCompass Score: SolidA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Worcester Polytechnic InstituteWorcester, MACompass Score: Excellent · Top 11%
At a glance
- Worcester Polytechnic Institute has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 37% at DeVry University-Illinois.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Worcester Polytechnic Institute has the lower price after aid: $24,018 a year, against $30,231 at DeVry University-Illinois.
- DeVry University-Illinois has the lower average price after aid: $30,770 a year, against $43,071 at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 11%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 6%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional universities
National universities
Location
Lisle, IL
Worcester, MA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
29,346
7,353
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
98%
60%
Average SAT
868
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
11–19
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
90%
First-year retention
65%
94%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$45,987
$103,470
Median debt
$24,807
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$30,770
$43,071
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$30,231
$24,018
$30,001–$48,000
$30,933
$24,452
$48,001–$75,000
$31,427
$32,350
$75,001–$110,000
$33,253
$37,753
Over $110,000
$35,359
$49,716
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Clinical laboratory science $95,622
- Electromechanical technology $88,911
- Computer engineering $86,645
- Engineering Technologies/Technicians $83,554
- Electrical engineering technology $83,322
- Computer science $134,208
- Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering $111,103
- Electrical engineering $109,386
- Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering $105,171
- Industrial Engineering $101,554
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.