Dickinson State vs Lake Superior State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Dickinson State UniversityDickinson, NDCompass Score: Good · Top 39%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lake Superior State UniversitySault Ste Marie, MICompass Score: Good · Top 36%
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Lake Superior State has the lower price after aid: $3,516 a year, against $10,479 at Dickinson State.
- Median debt is lower at Dickinson State: $18,442, against $23,250 at Lake Superior State.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 22%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Dickinson, ND
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Setting
Town
Town
Students
1,453
1,669
Sports
NAIA · North Star Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
37%
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
51%
First-year retention
67%
79%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,720
$49,045
Median debt
$18,442
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$14,092
$12,822
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,479
$3,516
$30,001–$48,000
$8,094
$9,226
$48,001–$75,000
$12,985
$10,422
$75,001–$110,000
$15,484
$14,541
Over $110,000
$16,922
$20,321
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $81,904
- Finance $76,040
- Business administration $67,169
- Accounting $66,147
- Human resources $64,488
- Mechanical engineering $90,216
- Nursing $70,959
- Accounting $60,167
- Criminal justice $58,286
- Geology and earth science $56,905
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.