Earlham vs Sweet Briar
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Earlham CollegeRichmond, INCompass Score: Very good · Top 26%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sweet Briar CollegeSweet Briar, VACompass Score: Good · Top 49%
At a glance
- Earlham has the higher graduation rate: 69% against 52% at Sweet Briar.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Sweet Briar has the lower price after aid: $11,734 a year, against $17,178 at Earlham.
- Sweet Briar has the lower average price after aid: $17,758 a year, against $24,714 at Earlham.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 31%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Richmond, IN
Sweet Briar, VA
Setting
Town
Rural
Students
696
464
Sports
NCAA Division III · Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
73%
76%
Average SAT
1219
1230
ACT middle 50%
24–33
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
69%
52%
First-year retention
77%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,797
$51,943
Median debt
$23,488
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,714
$17,758
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,178
$11,734
$30,001–$48,000
$15,658
$12,568
$48,001–$75,000
$19,768
$15,247
$75,001–$110,000
$26,136
$20,188
Over $110,000
$31,058
$24,710
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $60,745
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.