East-West vs Salem
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.East-West UniversityChicago, ILCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Salem CollegeWinston-Salem, NCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Salem has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 16% at East-West.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Salem has the lower price after aid: $16,147 a year, against $29,284 at East-West.
- Salem has the lower average price after aid: $18,277 a year, against $21,697 at East-West.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Chicago, IL
Winston-Salem, NC
Setting
City
City
Students
528
519
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · USA South Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1082
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
16%
57%
First-year retention
37%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$29,963
$44,640
Median debt
$26,986
$26,649
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,697
$18,277
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,168
$19,074
$30,001–$48,000
$26,636
$16,001
$48,001–$75,000
$29,284
$16,147
$75,001–$110,000
$30,852
$19,940
Over $110,000
Not reported
$24,027
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $48,943
- Business administration $68,431
- Psychology $49,464
- Education (general) $47,488
- Criminal justice $45,560
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.