Eastern Illinois vs Western Illinois
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern Illinois UniversityCharleston, ILCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Western Illinois UniversityMacomb, ILCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Eastern Illinois has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 45% at Western Illinois.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Western Illinois has the lower price after aid: $6,941 a year, against $9,828 at Eastern Illinois.
- Median debt is lower at Eastern Illinois: $21,500, against $25,251 at Western Illinois.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 29%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Charleston, IL
Macomb, IL
Setting
Town
Town
Students
8,804
7,073
Sports
NCAA Division I · Ohio Valley Conference
NCAA Division I · Ohio Valley Conference
Admission
Admission rate
65%
71%
Average SAT
1000
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
45%
First-year retention
72%
61%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,989
$54,163
Median debt
$21,500
$25,251
Cost
Average price after aid
About $13,000
About $13,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $10,000
About $7,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $9,000
About $9,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $11,000
About $12,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $16,000
About $16,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Industrial technology $81,362
- Computing and information science $72,220
- Finance $70,704
- Accounting $66,840
- Marketing $62,994
- Computing and information science $92,824
- Nursing $86,694
- Construction Management $85,974
- Engineering Technologies/Technicians $75,922
- Accounting $71,059
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.