Eastern Kentucky vs Indiana State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern Kentucky UniversityRichmond, KYCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Indiana State UniversityTerre Haute, INCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Eastern Kentucky has the higher graduation rate: 50% against 43% at Indiana State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Indiana State has the lower price after aid: $6,455 a year, against $8,591 at Eastern Kentucky.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Indiana State: $48,387, against $45,795 at Eastern Kentucky.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 30%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Richmond, KY
Terre Haute, IN
Setting
Town
City
Students
15,008
8,304
Sports
NCAA Division I · Atlantic Sun Conference
NCAA Division I · Missouri Valley Conference
Admission
Admission rate
78%
81%
Average SAT
1149
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
43%
First-year retention
77%
66%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$45,795
$48,387
Median debt
$22,500
$24,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $11,000
About $11,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $9,000
About $6,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $8,000
About $7,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $10,000
About $9,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $14,000
About $15,000
Over $110,000
About $17,000
About $19,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $92,289
- Construction Management $88,120
- Nursing $83,920
- Fire science $80,497
- Allied health $77,992
- Construction Management $94,902
- Management science $92,741
- Industrial technology $91,915
- Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $82,303
- Nursing $81,988
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.