Eastern Mennonite vs King
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern Mennonite UniversityHarrisonburg, VACompass Score: Good · Top 39%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.King UniversityBristol, TNCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Eastern Mennonite has the higher graduation rate: 67% against 48% at King.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, King has the lower price after aid: $18,035 a year, against $20,454 at Eastern Mennonite.
- King has the lower average price after aid: $22,347 a year, against $24,588 at Eastern Mennonite.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Harrisonburg, VA
Bristol, TN
Setting
City
City
Students
1,292
1,295
Sports
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
Admission
Admission rate
100%
100%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
48%
First-year retention
76%
60%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$54,869
$59,831
Median debt
$24,813
$22,750
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,588
$22,347
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$22,994
$22,696
$30,001–$48,000
$20,333
$17,677
$48,001–$75,000
$20,454
$18,035
$75,001–$110,000
$27,570
$21,188
Over $110,000
$29,315
$27,219
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $81,610
- Liberal arts $53,229
- Nursing $83,010
- Computing and information science $75,435
- Medical Illustration and Informatics $67,134
- Business administration $59,591
- Communication studies $58,770
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.