Eastern Oregon vs Sul Ross State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern Oregon UniversityLa Grande, ORCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sul Ross State UniversityAlpine, TXCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Eastern Oregon has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 30% at Sul Ross State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Sul Ross State has the lower price after aid: $11,261 a year, against $14,208 at Eastern Oregon.
- Sul Ross State has the lower average price after aid: $13,286 a year, against $17,148 at Eastern Oregon.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
La Grande, OR
Alpine, TX
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,798
1,942
Sports
NAIA · Cascade Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division II · Lone Star Conference
Admission
Admission rate
98%
99%
Average SAT
Not reported
1024
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
15–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
30%
First-year retention
71%
45%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,112
$41,871
Median debt
$20,500
$15,900
Cost
Average price after aid
$17,148
$13,286
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,563
$11,110
$30,001–$48,000
$11,150
$11,722
$48,001–$75,000
$14,208
$11,261
$75,001–$110,000
$22,566
$18,596
Over $110,000
$21,835
$20,279
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Liberal arts $60,706
- Business administration $59,066
- Communication studies $56,013
- Other education $51,176
- Kinesiology and exercise science $50,279
- Kinesiology and exercise science $57,658
- Business administration $49,510
- Interdisciplinary studies $49,184
- Criminal justice $42,239
- Psychology $42,185
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.