College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Eastern Oregon vs Western Oregon

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • Western Oregon has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 43% at Eastern Oregon.
  • For families earning up to $30,000, Eastern Oregon has the lower price after aid: $12,563 a year, against $15,575 at Western Oregon.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
La Grande, OR
Monmouth, OR
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,798
3,857
Sports
NAIA · Cascade Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Northwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
98%
98%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
47%
First-year retention
71%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$50,112
$51,815
Median debt
$20,500
$20,609
Cost
Average price after aid
About $17,000
About $17,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $13,000
About $16,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $11,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $14,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $18,000
Over $110,000
About $22,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Liberal arts $60,706
  2. Business administration $59,066
  3. Communication studies $56,013
  4. Other education $51,176
  5. Kinesiology and exercise science $50,279
  1. Computing and information science $90,324
  2. Criminal justice $60,363
  3. Business (general) $59,599
  4. Teacher education $54,761
  5. Kinesiology and exercise science $54,540

Compare with another college

Eastern Oregon University · Western Oregon University

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.