Eastern vs Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern UniversitySaint Davids, PACompass Score: SolidA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Saint Joseph's University - PhiladelphiaPhiladelphia, PACompass Score: Excellent · Top 15%
At a glance
- Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia has the higher graduation rate: 79% against 54% at Eastern.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia has the lower price after aid: $22,570 a year, against $26,557 at Eastern.
- Eastern has the lower average price after aid: about $27,000 a year, against about $30,000 at Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Saint Davids, PA
Philadelphia, PA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
6,981
7,201
Sports
NCAA Division III · Middle Atlantic States Athletic Corporation
NCAA Division I · Atlantic 10 Conference
Admission
Admission rate
91%
89%
Average SAT
Not reported
1258
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
28–31
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
79%
First-year retention
65%
89%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,655
$86,881
Median debt
$25,000
$25,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $27,000
About $30,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $27,000
About $23,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $22,000
About $23,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $23,000
About $24,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $26,000
About $29,000
Over $110,000
About $32,000
About $33,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $90,697
- Marketing $63,825
- Business administration $60,237
- Communication studies $58,371
- Criminology $56,695
- Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration $122,633
- Computer science $110,178
- Insurance $101,930
- Finance $96,993
- Management science $96,930
Compare with another college
Eastern University · Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.