Eastern Washington vs Stephen F Austin State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Eastern Washington UniversityCheney, WACompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Stephen F Austin State UniversityNacogdoches, TXCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Stephen F Austin State has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 43% at Eastern Washington.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Eastern Washington: $57,897, against $49,634 at Stephen F Austin State.
- Median debt is lower at Eastern Washington: $19,500, against $23,409 at Stephen F Austin State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Cheney, WA
Nacogdoches, TX
Setting
Town
Town
Students
10,741
10,888
Sports
NCAA Division I · Big Sky Conference
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
Admission
Admission rate
91%
94%
Average SAT
Not reported
1066
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
53%
First-year retention
67%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$57,897
$49,634
Median debt
$19,500
$23,409
Cost
Average price after aid
About $14,000
About $14,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $10,000
About $10,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $10,000
About $11,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $12,000
About $13,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $18,000
About $18,000
Over $110,000
About $22,000
About $23,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $95,817
- Electrical engineering $85,599
- Mechanical engineering $85,495
- Other engineering/engineering-related technologies/technicians $84,265
- Mechanical engineering technology $76,693
- Nursing $84,107
- Engineering Physics $80,086
- Computing and information science $75,271
- Accounting $69,635
- Finance $65,535
Compare with another college
Eastern Washington University · Stephen F Austin State University
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.