College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Edward Waters vs Shaw

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • Edward Waters has the higher graduation rate: 28% against 22% at Shaw.
  • For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Edward Waters has the lower price after aid: $9,743 a year, against $21,145 at Shaw.
  • Edward Waters has the lower average price after aid: $13,649 a year, against $16,512 at Shaw.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
Not rated
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Raleigh, NC
Setting
City
City
Students
1,175
962
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
85%
80%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
28%
22%
First-year retention
54%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$34,782
$34,409
Median debt
Not reported
$32,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,649
$16,512
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,380
$16,236
$30,001–$48,000
$12,113
$16,276
$48,001–$75,000
$9,743
$21,145
$75,001–$110,000
$21,661
Not reported
Over $110,000
$20,865
$24,966
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
  1. Business administration $47,401
  2. Social work $46,981
  3. Kinesiology and exercise science $44,010
  4. Criminal justice $43,299
  5. Communication studies $28,545

Compare with another college

Edward Waters University · Shaw University

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.