Emmanuel vs Mars Hill
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Emmanuel UniversityFranklin Springs, GACompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mars Hill UniversityMars Hill, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Mars Hill has the higher graduation rate: 45% against 42% at Emmanuel.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Mars Hill: $44,781, against $38,208 at Emmanuel.
- Emmanuel admits 74% of applicants, and Mars Hill admits 68%.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Franklin Springs, GA
Mars Hill, NC
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
896
1,049
Sports
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
NCAA Division II · South Atlantic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
68%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
45%
First-year retention
71%
69%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,208
$44,781
Median debt
$24,325
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,925
$19,910
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,735
$17,021
$30,001–$48,000
$17,687
$17,020
$48,001–$75,000
$19,817
$20,628
$75,001–$110,000
$20,592
$21,637
Over $110,000
$24,674
$21,972
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $43,435
- Kinesiology and exercise science $38,056
- Nursing $74,707
- Business administration $57,743
- Social work $51,053
- Teacher education $47,176
- Criminal justice $41,384
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.