Erskine vs Gallaudet
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Erskine CollegeDue West, SCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Gallaudet UniversityWashington, DCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Gallaudet has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 45% at Erskine.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Gallaudet has the lower price after aid: $14,236 a year, against $18,652 at Erskine.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Erskine: $53,459, against $43,101 at Gallaudet.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Due West, SC
Washington, DC
Setting
Rural
City
Students
984
1,364
Sports
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
NCAA Division III · United East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
63%
58%
Average SAT
Not reported
868
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
14–17
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
47%
First-year retention
56%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,459
$43,101
Median debt
$27,000
$18,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $17,000
About $16,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $15,000
About $14,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $13,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $19,000
About $14,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $16,000
About $19,000
Over $110,000
About $19,000
About $18,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $54,921
- American Sign Language $70,859
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.