Fairfield vs Sacred Heart
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Fairfield UniversityFairfield, CTCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 8%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Sacred Heart UniversityFairfield, CTCompass Score: Very good · Top 28%
At a glance
- Fairfield has the higher graduation rate: 84% against 73% at Sacred Heart.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Fairfield has the lower price after aid: $26,953 a year, against $41,647 at Sacred Heart.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Fairfield: $88,794, against $75,059 at Sacred Heart.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 7%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Fairfield, CT
Fairfield, CT
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
6,289
11,179
Sports
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Northeast Conference
Admission
Admission rate
33%
65%
Average SAT
1335
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
29–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
84%
73%
First-year retention
91%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$88,794
$75,059
Median debt
$26,000
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $48,000
About $46,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $33,000
About $39,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $35,000
About $41,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $27,000
About $42,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $44,000
About $46,000
Over $110,000
About $51,000
About $48,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Economics $120,303
- Accounting $110,586
- Finance $106,663
- Nursing $101,831
- International business $101,411
- Nursing $103,244
- Finance $94,733
- Computing and information science $93,209
- Accounting $91,777
- Economics $80,970
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.