Ferrum vs Hiram
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Ferrum CollegeFerrum, VACompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Hiram CollegeHiram, OHCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Hiram has the higher graduation rate: 55% against 32% at Ferrum.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Hiram: $54,311, against $44,296 at Ferrum.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 36%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Ferrum, VA
Hiram, OH
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
767
1,011
Sports
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · North Coast Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
89%
94%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
32%
55%
First-year retention
64%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,296
$54,311
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,082
$21,058
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,940
$16,550
$30,001–$48,000
$16,493
$16,382
$48,001–$75,000
$19,967
$18,515
$75,001–$110,000
$22,505
$22,236
Over $110,000
$24,346
$26,698
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Criminal justice $60,235
- Accounting $60,070
- Natural resources and conservation $49,527
- Secondary education $42,664
- Health sciences $42,229
- Nursing $75,185
- Accounting $58,941
- Business administration $55,501
- Biology $53,290
- Sociology $39,277
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.