Fitchburg State vs Southern Oregon
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Fitchburg State UniversityFitchburg, MACompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southern Oregon UniversityAshland, ORCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Fitchburg State has the higher graduation rate: 55% against 43% at Southern Oregon.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Fitchburg State has the lower price after aid: $11,540 a year, against $15,813 at Southern Oregon.
- Fitchburg State has the lower average price after aid: about $14,000 a year, against about $17,000 at Southern Oregon.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 39%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Fitchburg, MA
Ashland, OR
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
6,296
5,371
Sports
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
NAIA · Cascade Collegiate Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
89%
Average SAT
1150
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
43%
First-year retention
69%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$53,874
$49,175
Median debt
$24,239
$20,332
Cost
Average price after aid
About $14,000
About $17,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $10,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $11,000
About $12,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $12,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $16,000
About $22,000
Over $110,000
About $21,000
About $24,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $92,187
- Computing and information science $75,879
- Industrial technology $66,707
- Biology $65,991
- Business administration $64,528
- Computing and information science $75,596
- Business administration $65,171
- Mathematics $64,748
- Biology $63,008
- Social sciences $61,526
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.