Florida Memorial vs Simpson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Florida Memorial UniversityMiami Gardens, FLCompass Score: SolidA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Simpson CollegeIndianola, IACompass Score: Excellent · Top 19%
At a glance
- Simpson has the higher graduation rate: 63% against 31% at Florida Memorial.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Simpson has the lower price after aid: $19,176 a year, against $24,425 at Florida Memorial.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Simpson: $59,274, against $36,624 at Florida Memorial.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 19%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 18%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Miami Gardens, FL
Indianola, IA
Setting
Suburb
Town
Students
1,365
1,163
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NCAA Division III · American Rivers Conference
Admission
Admission rate
85%
86%
Average SAT
Not reported
1440
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
31–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
63%
First-year retention
50%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$36,624
$59,274
Median debt
$30,063
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$23,238
$21,936
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$21,882
$17,941
$30,001–$48,000
$22,868
$15,764
$48,001–$75,000
$24,425
$19,176
$75,001–$110,000
$26,861
$22,468
Over $110,000
$30,076
$26,586
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Social work $45,821
- Criminal justice $45,656
- Psychology $29,042
- Computing and information science $93,749
- Computer science $91,318
- Accounting $76,272
- Business administration $69,958
- Mathematics $65,097
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.