College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Florida Polytechnic vs New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 55% at Florida Polytechnic.
  • For families earning up to $30,000, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology has the lower price after aid: $5,136 a year, against $8,819 at Florida Polytechnic.
  • Median debt is lower at Florida Polytechnic: $14,250, against $19,085 at New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 29%
Value
Not rated
A+Value: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional universities
Location
Lakeland, FL
Socorro, NM
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
1,618
1,713
Sports
Not reported
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
58%
44%
Average SAT
1268
1207
ACT middle 50%
24–30
20–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
57%
First-year retention
75%
77%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
Not reported
$76,489
Median debt
$14,250
$19,085
Cost
Average price after aid
About $12,000
About $10,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $9,000
About $5,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $9,000
About $8,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $11,000
About $10,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $15,000
About $15,000
Over $110,000
About $16,000
About $13,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Computer engineering $92,109
  2. Software and media applications $92,070
  3. Electrical engineering $90,086
  4. Mechanical engineering $70,314
  1. Electrical engineering $117,813
  2. Mechanical engineering $98,213
  3. Computing and information science $95,750
  4. Petroleum Engineering $95,234
  5. Chemical Engineering $85,900

Compare with another college

Florida Polytechnic University · New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare 0

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.