Franklin W Olin College of Engineering vs Harvey Mudd
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Franklin W Olin College of EngineeringNeedham, MACompass Score: Exceptional · Top 4%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Harvey Mudd CollegeClaremont, CACompass Score: Exceptional · Top 4%
At a glance
- Franklin W Olin College of Engineering has the higher graduation rate: 96% against 92% at Harvey Mudd.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Franklin W Olin College of Engineering has the lower price after aid: $9,528 a year, against $17,968 at Harvey Mudd.
- Franklin W Olin College of Engineering has the lower average price after aid: about $25,000 a year, against about $36,000 at Harvey Mudd.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
Academic Excellence
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 1%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Specialized schools
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Needham, MA
Claremont, CA
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
402
949
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
25%
13%
Average SAT
1520
1545
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
34–36
Outcomes
Graduation rate
96%
92%
First-year retention
98%
96%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$129,455
$138,687
Median debt
$19,500
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $36,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
Not reported
About $28,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $3,000
About $24,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $10,000
About $18,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $12,000
About $25,000
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $51,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Engineering (general) $135,136
- Computer science $198,257
- Engineering (general) $122,845
Compare with another college
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering · Harvey Mudd College
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.