Franklin W Olin College of Engineering vs Webb Institute
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Franklin W Olin College of EngineeringNeedham, MACompass Score: Exceptional · Top 4%A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Webb InstituteGlen Cove, NYCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 3%
At a glance
- Franklin W Olin College of Engineering has the higher graduation rate: 96% against 88% at Webb Institute.
- Franklin W Olin College of Engineering has the lower average price after aid: about $25,000 a year, against about $73,000 at Webb Institute.
- Franklin W Olin College of Engineering admits 25% of applicants, and Webb Institute admits 14%.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 3%
Academic Excellence
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Not rated
The college
Category
Specialized schools
Specialized schools
Location
Needham, MA
Glen Cove, NY
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
402
105
Sports
Not reported
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
25%
14%
Average SAT
1520
1496
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
32–34
Outcomes
Graduation rate
96%
88%
First-year retention
98%
93%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$129,455
Not reported
Median debt
$19,500
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $73,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
Not reported
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
About $3,000
About $61,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $10,000
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
About $12,000
About $71,000
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $76,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Engineering (general) $135,136
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering $92,972
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.