Gallaudet vs Russell Sage
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Gallaudet UniversityWashington, DCCompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Russell Sage CollegeTroy, NYCompass Score: Good · Top 36%
At a glance
- Russell Sage has the higher graduation rate: 56% against 47% at Gallaudet.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Russell Sage has the lower price after aid: $6,662 a year, against $14,129 at Gallaudet.
- Gallaudet has the lower average price after aid: $15,845 a year, against $22,917 at Russell Sage.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Washington, DC
Troy, NY
Setting
City
City
Students
1,364
2,064
Sports
NCAA Division III · United East Conference
NCAA Division III · Empire Eight
Admission
Admission rate
58%
53%
Average SAT
868
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
14–17
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
56%
First-year retention
71%
78%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$43,101
$58,316
Median debt
$18,000
$22,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$15,845
$22,917
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$14,129
$6,662
$30,001–$48,000
$15,238
$41,141
$48,001–$75,000
$14,236
$21,326
$75,001–$110,000
$18,830
$24,302
Over $110,000
$18,318
$26,526
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- American Sign Language $70,859
- Nursing $89,836
- Other biological and biomedical sciences $70,329
- Other health professions and related clinical sciences $68,647
- Business administration $58,753
- Accounting $55,125
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.