Gannon vs Simmons
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Gannon UniversityErie, PACompass Score: Good · Top 40%A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Simmons UniversityBoston, MACompass Score: Excellent · Top 15%
At a glance
- Simmons has the higher graduation rate: 72% against 66% at Gannon.
- Gannon has the lower average price after aid: $22,553 a year, against $25,265 at Simmons.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Simmons: $63,494, against $58,845 at Gannon.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 25%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 10%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Erie, PA
Boston, MA
Setting
City
City
Students
4,548
5,053
Sports
NCAA Division II · Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Great Northeast Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
70%
Average SAT
Not reported
1316
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
26–34
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
72%
First-year retention
76%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,845
$63,494
Median debt
$27,000
$24,840
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,553
$25,265
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,489
$18,027
$30,001–$48,000
$15,945
$15,810
$48,001–$75,000
$20,352
$22,139
$75,001–$110,000
$23,354
$24,714
Over $110,000
$25,445
$32,777
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Other health professions and related clinical sciences $93,419
- Mechanical engineering $82,856
- Nursing $80,846
- Finance $73,971
- Accounting $67,065
- Kinesiology and exercise science $76,569
- Communication studies $71,138
- Biology $68,251
- Nutrition Sciences $68,021
- Public health $64,514
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.