Goshen vs Shaw
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Goshen CollegeGoshen, INCompass Score: Good · Top 47%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Shaw UniversityRaleigh, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Goshen has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 22% at Shaw.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Goshen has the lower price after aid: $15,163 a year, against $21,145 at Shaw.
- Goshen has the lower average price after aid: $14,493 a year, against $16,512 at Shaw.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 47%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 30%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 33%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Goshen, IN
Raleigh, NC
Setting
City
City
Students
824
962
Sports
NAIA · Crossroads League
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
84%
80%
Average SAT
950
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
22%
First-year retention
80%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,943
$34,409
Median debt
$22,974
$32,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$14,493
$16,512
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,761
$16,236
$30,001–$48,000
$6,947
$16,276
$48,001–$75,000
$15,163
$21,145
$75,001–$110,000
$17,413
Not reported
Over $110,000
$19,447
$24,966
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $78,185
- Social work $39,176
- Business administration $47,401
- Social work $46,981
- Kinesiology and exercise science $44,010
- Criminal justice $43,299
- Communication studies $28,545
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.