Governors State vs Grambling State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Governors State UniversityUniversity Park, ILCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Grambling State UniversityGrambling, LACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Grambling State has the higher graduation rate: 36% against 22% at Governors State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Governors State has the lower price after aid: $11,705 a year, against $21,743 at Grambling State.
- Governors State has the lower average price after aid: $12,329 a year, against $19,809 at Grambling State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
University Park, IL
Grambling, LA
Setting
Suburb
Town
Students
4,337
5,114
Sports
NAIA · Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Southwestern Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
48%
45%
Average SAT
Not reported
943
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
15–19
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
36%
First-year retention
56%
66%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,169
$41,109
Median debt
$18,618
$36,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$12,329
$19,809
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$9,563
$18,666
$30,001–$48,000
$10,933
$19,007
$48,001–$75,000
$11,705
$21,743
$75,001–$110,000
$16,741
$24,525
Over $110,000
$22,076
$25,310
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $88,391
- Computer science $79,154
- Computing and information science $70,895
- Accounting $61,223
- Business administration $59,562
- Engineering Technologies/Technicians $68,760
- Information science $54,803
- Biology $54,628
- Accounting $50,208
- Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies $45,159
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.