Grand Canyon vs Liberty
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Grand Canyon UniversityPhoenix, AZCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Liberty UniversityLynchburg, VACompass Score: Good · Top 47%
At a glance
- Liberty has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 43% at Grand Canyon.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Grand Canyon has the lower price after aid: $18,557 a year, against $30,667 at Liberty.
- Grand Canyon has the lower average price after aid: about $22,000 a year, against about $29,000 at Liberty.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Lynchburg, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
107,563
103,068
Sports
NCAA Division I · Western Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Conference USA
Admission
Admission rate
79%
99%
Average SAT
1077
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
20–22
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
65%
First-year retention
72%
80%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$42,186
$44,813
Median debt
$22,114
$24,500
Cost
Average price after aid
About $22,000
About $29,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $19,000
About $31,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $19,000
About $28,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $22,000
About $27,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $24,000
About $27,000
Over $110,000
About $26,000
About $31,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $103,884
- Computer science $88,308
- Mechanical engineering $86,834
- Computing and information science $85,864
- Homeland Security $84,553
- Air Transportation $102,096
- Industrial Engineering $94,928
- Electrical engineering $89,244
- Mechanical engineering $89,129
- Management information systems $84,228
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.