Grand View vs Wilson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Grand View UniversityDes Moines, IACompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Wilson CollegeChambersburg, PACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Grand View has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 48% at Wilson.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Wilson has the lower price after aid: $14,808 a year, against $18,512 at Grand View.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Grand View: $52,824, against $43,326 at Wilson.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Des Moines, IA
Chambersburg, PA
Setting
City
City
Students
1,796
1,694
Sports
NAIA · Heart of America Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · United East Conference
Admission
Admission rate
99%
92%
Average SAT
Not reported
1000
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
48%
First-year retention
70%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,824
$43,326
Median debt
$22,500
$26,328
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,774
$21,741
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,512
$14,808
$30,001–$48,000
$18,773
$18,436
$48,001–$75,000
$20,254
$18,236
$75,001–$110,000
$23,414
$20,905
Over $110,000
$24,601
$26,246
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $73,047
- Finance $67,234
- Accounting $66,906
- Biology $66,623
- Marketing $65,010
- Nursing $73,921
- Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians $41,954
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.