Hamline vs Johnson & Wales University-Online
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hamline UniversitySaint Paul, MNCompass Score: Good · Top 41%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Johnson & Wales University-OnlineProvidence, RICompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Hamline has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 0% at Johnson & Wales University-Online.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Hamline has the lower price after aid: $15,371 a year, against $19,916 at Johnson & Wales University-Online.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Hamline: $61,106, against $43,418 at Johnson & Wales University-Online.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Saint Paul, MN
Providence, RI
Setting
City
City
Students
2,432
2,597
Sports
NCAA Division III · Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
88%
91%
Average SAT
1160
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–28
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
0%
First-year retention
78%
52%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$61,106
$43,418
Median debt
$23,770
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $21,000
About $20,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $15,000
About $20,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $18,000
About $21,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $21,000
Not reported
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $25,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $72,945
- Pre-law and legal studies $65,460
- Criminology $60,757
- Communication studies $59,557
- Political science $53,252
- Human resources $79,056
- Public relations $77,025
- Accounting $73,476
- Finance $73,152
- Marketing $64,321
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.