Hampshire vs Warren Wilson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hampshire CollegeAmherst, MACompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Warren Wilson CollegeSwannanoa, NCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Hampshire has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 42% at Warren Wilson.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Hampshire has the lower price after aid: $18,165 a year, against $21,046 at Warren Wilson.
- Warren Wilson has the lower average price after aid: $21,249 a year, against $24,034 at Hampshire.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Amherst, MA
Swannanoa, NC
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
717
797
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III
Admission
Admission rate
75%
71%
Average SAT
Not reported
1350
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
25–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
42%
First-year retention
78%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,938
$36,260
Median debt
$26,893
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,034
$21,249
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$13,749
$13,566
$30,001–$48,000
$15,251
$17,514
$48,001–$75,000
$18,165
$21,046
$75,001–$110,000
$25,447
$25,834
Over $110,000
$37,221
$27,982
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Liberal arts $36,508
- Natural resources and conservation $43,793
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.