Hilbert vs Villa Maria
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Hilbert CollegeHamburg, NYCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Villa Maria CollegeBuffalo, NYCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Hilbert has the higher graduation rate: 56% against 31% at Villa Maria.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Villa Maria has the lower price after aid: $12,274 a year, against $23,162 at Hilbert.
- Villa Maria has the lower average price after aid: $13,494 a year, against $22,723 at Hilbert.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Hamburg, NY
Buffalo, NY
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
973
545
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
97%
87%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
31%
First-year retention
64%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,309
$38,857
Median debt
$24,750
$21,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,723
$13,494
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,903
$13,049
$30,001–$48,000
$20,389
$13,265
$48,001–$75,000
$23,162
$12,274
$75,001–$110,000
$24,732
$12,775
Over $110,000
$24,329
$25,069
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $58,400
- Security science $54,589
- Criminal justice $53,418
- Human services $50,111
- Design $48,379
- Graphic communications $35,482
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.