Hillsdale vs Reed
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hillsdale CollegeHillsdale, MICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Reed CollegePortland, ORCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 7%
At a glance
- Hillsdale has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 71% at Reed.
Scores
Compass Score
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 7%
Academic Excellence
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 6%
Value
Not rated
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Hillsdale, MI
Portland, OR
Setting
Town
City
Students
1,823
1,458
Sports
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
21%
25%
Average SAT
1415
1437
ACT middle 50%
30–33
30–34
Outcomes
Graduation rate
90%
71%
First-year retention
97%
88%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
Not reported
$62,927
Median debt
Not reported
$21,500
Cost
Average price after aid
Not reported
$33,013
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
Not reported
$12,674
$30,001–$48,000
Not reported
$12,514
$48,001–$75,000
Not reported
$14,513
$75,001–$110,000
Not reported
$23,421
Over $110,000
Not reported
$46,711
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Economics $92,453
- Psychology $36,430
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.