Hillsdale vs Skidmore
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hillsdale CollegeHillsdale, MICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Skidmore CollegeSaratoga Springs, NYCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 5%
At a glance
- Hillsdale has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 83% at Skidmore.
Scores
Compass Score
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 5%
Academic Excellence
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
Value
Not rated
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Hillsdale, MI
Saratoga Springs, NY
Setting
Town
Suburb
Students
1,823
2,776
Sports
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Upstate Collegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
21%
21%
Average SAT
1415
1405
ACT middle 50%
30–33
31–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
90%
83%
First-year retention
97%
90%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
Not reported
$69,363
Median debt
Not reported
$19,500
Cost
Average price after aid
Not reported
About $32,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
Not reported
About $10,000
$30,001–$48,000
Not reported
About $11,000
$48,001–$75,000
Not reported
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
Not reported
About $22,000
Over $110,000
Not reported
About $45,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Computing and information science $104,708
- Business (general) $93,229
- Political science $69,091
- Physiology and pathology $67,645
- Social work $61,428
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.