Hiram vs Rochester
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hiram CollegeHiram, OHCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Rochester UniversityRochester Hills, MICompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Hiram has the higher graduation rate: 55% against 44% at Rochester.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Hiram: $54,311, against $48,707 at Rochester.
- Median debt is lower at Rochester: $24,475, against $27,000 at Hiram.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Hiram, OH
Rochester Hills, MI
Setting
Rural
Suburb
Students
1,011
1,173
Sports
NCAA Division III · North Coast Athletic Conference
NAIA · Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
94%
98%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
44%
First-year retention
72%
60%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$54,311
$48,707
Median debt
$27,000
$24,475
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,058
$21,456
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,550
$18,463
$30,001–$48,000
$16,382
$17,173
$48,001–$75,000
$18,515
$19,771
$75,001–$110,000
$22,236
$20,596
Over $110,000
$26,698
$25,821
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $75,185
- Accounting $58,941
- Business administration $55,501
- Biology $53,290
- Sociology $39,277
- Nursing $90,425
- Business administration $60,312
- Communication studies $51,856
- Psychology $46,344
- Kinesiology and exercise science $45,314
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.